top of page
Search

Resting babe face can actually feel good

Long time no see! But, here I am with a quick update on what everyone fears about Botox or Dysport, which is having a expressionless robot face... isn't it scary not to be able to move certain facial muscles?


In my experience, no.


The lack of creasing my makeup or "frowning" when certain family members do things lacking intelligence have actually been a kind of relief.


The faces we all do carry a lot of emotional weight, and you have heard that smiling more can make you feel content, so it is natural that not frowning can have a similar result... insane... but the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology study (1) found that when a person had Botox to prevent frowning, that person had a decreased negative mood. I feel this is totally appropriate in so many situations in this life which cause negative emotions, and I am already signed up for the next regular tox appointment.


As a current Dysport and Botox user, I can frequently catch myself in the mirror thinking that I truly look more relaxed, and I hear patients sharing the same feedback on their follow-up appointments every 3 to 4 months... and that is enough for me to also believe that we are all happier with our dose of Botox and Dysport.



1- Lewis MB, Bowler PJ. Botulinum toxin cosmetic therapy correlates with a more positive mood. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2009 Mar;8(1):24-6. doi: 10.1111/j.1473-2165.2009.00419.x. PMID: 19250162.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page